Plant Dormancy Workshop

This session will focus on the genomics and biology of bud and seed dormancy of plants. This session will provide the newest information on genes, pathways, and chromosomal regions that regulate the transition through dormancy states (ie. endodormancy, ecodormancy,paradormancy, and from dormancy to growth).
Date: Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Time: 4:00 PM-6:10 PM
Room: Royal Palm Salon 3-4
Anne Fennell and Jason Londo
4:00 PM
Dormancy without Reproduction
Wenqin Wang, Waksman Institute, Rutgers University; Yongrui Wu, Shanghai Institute of Plant Physiology & Ecology, CAS; Joachim Messing, Rutgers University

4:20 PM
Extensive Transcriptome Changes during Natural Onset and Release of Vegetative Bud Dormancy in Populus
Haiwei Lu, Oregon State University; Glenn T. Howe, Oregon State University; David P. Horvath, USDA-ARS; Palitha Dharmawardhana, Department of Botany & Plant Pathology, Oregon State University; Henry D. Priest, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center; Todd C. Mockler, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center; Steven H. Strauss, Oregon State University

4:40 PM
Identification of Candidate miRNAs and their Targets Involved in the Dormancy Regulation of Grapevine.
Shuchi Smita, South Dakota State University; Monica Accerbi, University of Delaware; Pamela J. Green, University of Delaware; Senthil Subramanian, South Dakota State University; Anne Fennell, South Dakota State University

5:00 PM
Shifts in Balance Among Phytohormones are the Main Factors Driving Differentiation of Bud to Shoot Growth
Wun S. Chao, USDA-ARS; Munevver Dogramaci, USDA-ARS; David P. Horvath, USDA-ARS; James V. Anderson, USDA-ARS; Michael E. Foley, USDA-ARS

5:20 PM
Higher Seed Dormancy and ABA Sensitivity Improves Wheat Preharvest Sprouting Tolerance
Shantel A. Martinez, Washington State University; Keiko M. Tuttle, Washington State University; Kimberly Garland Campbell, USDA-ARS; Arron H. Carter, Washington State University; Camille M. Steber, USDA-ARS

5:40 PM
The Role for Jasmonates in Wheat Dormancy Release by Stratification
Jose Barrero, CSIRO Agriculture; Qian Xu, CSIRO Agriculture; Thy T. Truong, Mass Spectrometry Facility, Research School of Biology, Australian National University; John V. Jacobsen, CSIRO Agriculture; Charles H. Hocart, Mass Spectrometry Facility, Research School of Biology, Australian National University; Frank Gubler, CSIRO Agriculture

See more of: Workshops